Birgit im Abenteuerland

The Catlins 3/3

Day 14 (30.1.2013): The Catlins
Yeah, I’m still here, it’s truly awesome. All the backpackers seemed to be fully booked last night, so I treated myself to a night in a b’n’b.
The Catlins

The Catlins

As the b’n’b had direct beach access I started my day with a walk along the beach of Porpoise Bay. Followed by a 2.5hr adventurous waterfall wilderness hike at Waipohatu. Awesome! Have I mentioned that I love rainforest? 😀

20130130-0042 20130130-0049

Next I made my way to Slope Point, New Zealand’s most southerly point. Now I have seen both, the most northerly point Cape Reienga in 2002 and the most southerly point Slope Point just today.

Slope Point, NZ's most southerly point

Slope Point, NZ’s most southerly point

Next over to Waipapa Point which has a beautiful lighthouse and sea lions!

Waipapa Point Lighthouse

Waipapa Point Lighthouse

Sea Lions @ Waipapa Point

Sea Lions @ Waipapa Point

Tonight I try again for some penguin spotting … and was very successful. Three penguins made it very close to the viewpoint.

20130130-0080-2 20130130-0070-2

Finally, curio bay treated us with an awesome sunset.

20130130-0143-2

Off to Invacargill and Stewart Island tomorrow.

This entry was published on January 31, 2013 at 7:13 pm. It’s filed under New Zealand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

