Birgit im Abenteuerland

Gorges Du Verdon & St. Tropez, France

Gorges Du Verdon is a 25km long and – wow – 700m deep canyon that is followed by a little road with spectacular views. Not only on to the amazing rock formations of the canyon but also towards Lake of Sainte-Croix which stands out by its vibrant turquoise color.

After the drive along the gorge I accidentally visited St. Tropez. Accidentially, you’ll say, how did that happen? Well, as a non-French-speaker many of those places sound pretty much alike, especially when you’re driving and navigating at the same time – and yeah, navigating not with an gps but the old-fashioned way with a map – they still exist, you know šŸ˜‰

So, to finish this big day off, I thought I visit theĀ cathedral inĀ Saint-MaximinĀ which was rather close by were I stayed for a few nights. First, I used the map, later on I followed signposts. My gut feeling told me something was not quite right when those signs sent me towards “the left”, my gut feeling told me thisĀ Saint-Maximin should be slightly further towards “the right”. Well, what should I say, I only recognized that this was notĀ Saint-Maximin butĀ Sainte-Maxime when I parked the car and found out that I’m by the sea. That’s at least something I was sure about:Ā Saint-Maximin is not by the sea, but definitely inland. šŸ™‚

But to make the best of this little misunderstanding I visited St. Tropez which is just around the corner fromĀ Sainte-Maxime. Well, if the rich and the beautiful are hanging out in St. Tropez, Cannes and the like, they were hiding when I was there. Of course I saw some of the expected big boats and luxury cars but that was it. People were not even better dressed than elsewhere. Or, which is also very possible, they were not hiding, I just didn’t recognize them šŸ™‚

Downside of that trip to St. Tropez was the way home. Instead of a 15mins drive from Saint-Maximin it was a solid 2.5 hours drive home. Made it home really late and really exhausted … but it was a good day! šŸ˜€

Lake of Sainte-Croix

Lake of Sainte-Croix

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Lake of Sainte-Croix

Lake of Sainte-Croix

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon & Lake of Sainte-Croix

Gorges Du Verdon & Lake of Sainte-Croix

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

Gorges Du Verdon

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

St. Tropez

This entry was published on September 14, 2015 at 3:12 pm. It’s filed under France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

